I Tramp A Perpetual Journey

“I know I have the best of time and space, and was never measured and
Never will be measured

I tramp a perpetual journey, (come listen all!)
My signs are a rain-proof coat, good shoes, and a staff cut from the
Woods
No friend of mine takes his ease in my chair
I have no chair, no church, no philosophy
I lead no man to a dinner-table, library, exchange
But each man and each woman of you I lead upon a knoll
My left hand hooking you round the waist
My right hand pointing to landscapes of continents and the public
Road

Not I, not any one else can travel that road for you
You must travel it for yourself

It is not far, it is within reach
Perhaps you have been on it since you were born and did not know
Perhaps it is everywhere on water and on land

Shoulder your duds dear son, and I will mine, and let us hasten
Forth
Wonderful cities and free nations we shall fetch as we go”

~Walt Whitman (Song Of Myself. V46)

This entry was posted in Deliberate Health, Deliberate Living Space, Deliberate Privacy, General and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

